Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: No period after 2 years!

Default No period after 2 years!

I gave birth to my second daughter just about 2 years ago, and my period has not returned yet. My daughter still nurses VERY often during the day and night. I know I should be rejoicing about not having a period, but I'm actually quite concerned - we would like to try for #3 but have no way of knowing if this is normal or not. I'm wondering if I am "broken," or if the frequency and duration of the nursing is influencing my fertility.... Any thoughts? Thanks!

Default Re: No period after 2 years!

Hi there,
    I have been nursing Thomas for 14 months and no sign of a period yet. I was just at my annual and ask my doctor that very same question and she said that it is completely normal. Some women do not get there period back while they are nursing and some do after only a few weeks. Every mom is different. They say that if you can night wean your fertility is more likely to return, and you could even maybe be dropping a stray egg and not know it? My OB's advice, lot's of unprotected sex. I would say that you are just fine, and also if you are ready to put some healthy limits on bfing your toddler in order to try and get your fertility back I would say there would be no problem with that. All the best!

This book is wonderful:

Breastfeeding and Natural Child Spacing by Sheila Kippley

Do you feel completely 'normal' otherwise? Low thyroid can cause irregular/no periods. But I also have heard that it is common for many women to resume their periods only once they have weaned their child.

The articles here may be helpful to you, K&Msmom.

Fertility

Mary

Red face Re: No period after 2 years!

Quote Originally Posted by K&Msmom