Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Away from LO for 7 days, how much EBM?

Exclamation Away from LO for 7 days, how much EBM?

Ladies I need your help. Sorry for the long post. I’ll be out of the country on a business trip that will take 7 DAYS. I’m an engineer and traveling is part of my job usually 35% on my time is traveling. Since DS was born my manager has been very flexible and accommodating. I haven’t traveled for 1 year (including my 3rd trimester) however I wasn’t expecting my first trip to be so LONG. I was hoping for 2-3 days MAX. As soon as I agreed to go on the trip that originally was for 2 wks and I negotiated 1 instead, I wanted to cry. I have never been 24 hours away from my LO and I’m totally stressed out about how much EBM he will need among hundreds of other concerns of course.
    How do I estimate the amount of milk he’ll need in 24 hours. When I leave he’ll be 81/2 months old. I nurse him on demand (7-8 times per day and once during the night) and he only eats solids once or twice per day, usually 2-3 OZ mostly. I work in the office twice a week and he drinks 4 x 5OZ bottles (I think they overfeed him but I never minded b/c he is a slow weight gainer and I never had problems PPing) He loves solid food. My questions are:
    1) What is the minimum of EBM he should drink in 24 hours?
    2) If I don’t have enough for the 7 days what should I supplement with? He has never had formula or juice just a little water with the meal just to get used to the sippy cup
    3) If I had to supplement with solids how much is the max he should be eating at 81/2 quantity and frequency?
    4) What do I do with all the milk I’ll pump during the trip? In the US I was planning on bringing w/ me or shipping it but I’ll be in South America.
    5) I’ll be at industrial plants and not sure how many Pping breaks I’ll be able to take during the day. What is the minimum Pping sessions in 24 hours?