Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: can't go to sleep on his own

Exclamation can't go to sleep on his own

hello. i have searching for a thread that talks about this and haven't been able to find anything. so if i over looked i'm sorry. i am very new to this message board stuff. well to start i have 5 boys. i should be a pro right? WRONG. it amazes me every time how differetn each one is. anyway, my younges is 9 mths(almost 10 mths). we co sleep since day one. i nursed all the kids and the last three we co sleeped. well the problem i am having now is that the baby will not and can not go to sleep without me laying with him while he nurses. i can't rock him, walk him, pet him, anything but lay down and nurse. i personally don't have a problem if it were just him and me, but i have a full house and it is starting to cause some conflict and jealousy. i can't let him cry, tried it. no one in the house can let him cry as far as that goes. my question is this.. will he eventually learn to go to sleep by his self? or will i being laying down next to him and nursing him when he leaves for college? thank you for any advice and help.
    candy

Default Re: can't go to sleep on his own

Welcome, Candy -- I'm glad you jumped in and asked your question. I always love to hear from mothers of several children, as they all say how wonderfully different each of their children is. It's a wonderful reminder to me (mother of one and stepmom of another) that each child is an individual and any problems we're having aren't ALL about me and my parenting skills (or lack thereof!)

I think a lot of parents find that 9-10 months or so is a time when sleep gets trickier instead of easier. I know that was a hard time for us -- my son just had a really hard time unwinding from an active day, and it really took a lot of work to get him to sleep, especially at night when the house might be noisier than in the daytime.