Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Baby looks to be in pain sometimes? HELP!

Default Baby looks to be in pain sometimes? HELP!

Hi, Im new at this but Im hopeful that someone out there will be able to help... My daughter is 4 weeks tomorrow and she is doing pretty well, she is definatley different than my son who is 3 1/2 now was as a baby, he never cried and slept all the time and well she's the opposite. I recently determined with the help of this site that she has in fact been cluster feeding which was helpful to find out, being a human pacifier is not so frustrating when you know that your not the only one. So now my only "problem" is that Im concerned that sometimes when she's eating she tenses up and screams like she is in pain, and roots furiously for my breast even though she's already at my breast. Her belly is hard and she hates it when I touch it, so I think its maybe gas??? Not sure though....PLEASE HELP! She looks like she's devastated and it breaks my heart.

Default Re: Baby looks to be in pain sometimes? HELP!

Does it look like it bothers her to swallow? If it does, she might have reflux. Is her belly hard only when she start screaming or always? When babies cry their belly tend to feel hard, if it's like that I don't know exactly what it could be, gas could be one reason. When is her next bay check up?

Thanks for the reply, she swallows fine, I called her dr. office today and they suspect gas as well, so Im going to watch her and try some massage. wish us luck!

My little Annie does the same thing! I suspect she does it when she is overtired and can't quite cross over into sleep. It is like she is confused. She crunches up, flails her arms and kicks as well as feverishly rooting for a nipple that is already in her mouth. If I hold her a little snug so she can move but not flail, and rub her forehead she falls right asleep and is fine.

How are her BMs? Does she get fussy like that at any other times during the day?