Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: 7 mo & slow weight gain - family driving me crazy

Default 7 mo & slow weight gain - family driving me crazy

My dd is almost 7 mo (next week), and is gaining but very slowly.....she is in the 0 percentile for her age. She weighs about 12 1/2 pounds right now (she was 6lbs. 14 oz at birth) - she goes to the doctor next week to get a flu shot and I'm going to have her weighed in too....
    My family (mom, sisters and in-laws) are driving me crazy. Every time I see them they go on and on about how little she is. They say that the doctor doesn't know everything and that there could be something wrong with my breastmilk or worse, with the baby. I don't know which way to go. I've been hearing that something is wrong for 7 months now, and it's starting to make me 2nd guess myself. She is my 3rd baby, and is definitely the smallest of the three, but the other two were switched to formula at 4 months. She seems to be meeting all of her milestones -
    She sits up (with a pillow behind her), she is very social, babbles non-stop, smiles ALL the time, she's a great sleeper, she's eating cereals and fruits/veggies, the only thing she doesn't really do is roll from her back to her stomach. But she does roll the other way. Should I be concerned? The family is really starting to make me worry now, and making me second guess myself. I feel like maybe I should stop nursing, but this is my last baby - I was determined to make it a year........

Default Re: 7 mo & slow weight gain - family driving me crazy

Should you be concerned? Probably not. If your baby seems healthy and happy to you, then she probably is. You- and not your doc or your mom or your sisters or your in-laws- know her best!!!

Were your other two babies on the petite side, despite the formula? Are you and your husband on the smaller side? If so, then I would just chalk your daughter's size up to genetics.