Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Overactive&engorged at 5 months!

Default Overactive&engorged at 5 months!

I have been breastfeeding exclusively now for 5 months (as of today!) I figure in a month or so (whenever the little guy is ready) I'll slowly start the introduction of solids. I guess cereal mixed with breastmilk is a pretty common starting point. I want to begin storing some milk to mix with solids. Let me add I have had overactive let down since about the 4th week of breast feeding, which has been a challenge. I block fed, adjusted positions and carried around a receiving blanket as a sponge for my "spray" for months. About 2 weeks ago Benji started to be able to drink through my let down without breaking away or choking. Then silly me decided to pump a little on one breast (with the hand held pump). I didn't empty my breast, I just pumped through the let down and slightly beyond and got almost 3oz., which I froze. However, that night and over the next couple days this breast was extremely engorged and Benji could no longer keep up with my let down. I finally seemed back to normal and with advice tried to express a little milk (yesterday)just with my hand. (Nearly an ounce) and the same thing, last night I was heavily engorged and Benji is now crying again at my let down. Is this typical and is there any easier way of expressing my milk for future use, or should I just wait?

Default Re: Overactive&engorged at 5 months!

Hello and ,

Is your only purpose for expressing your milk at this point to have milk to mix with ds's cereal? While infant cereals are a common first choice food for formula fed babies, they aren't really necessary for breastfed babies. Many nursing moms find that a bit of ripe banana, mashed with a fork, is an easy, inexpensive, and nutritious first food. Check out the Starting Solids forum for more ideas.