Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: almost 4 weeks and severly frustrated

Default almost 4 weeks and severly frustrated

Hi, im new to bf my son is 10 and i didnt bf with him, but my daughter was born almost 4 weeks ago and we decided to bf. It started out great not a problem and then a week after she was born i dried up, there was nothing comming out for her, this went on for 2 days and the day i went to the health unit to get it checked i started producing milk again. I called health link since it was on a weekend to get some advice and nothing she said worked, the warm wet cloths on my breasts produced a half ounce or so from both breasts combined and not often. Anyways then 4 days after i got my milk back i dried up again, the health nurse found this weird, i went in thinking maybe it was a latching problem or something and she couldnt believe that i dried up she never heard of drying up and suddenly producing, but i started again the next day, then this past sunday my daughter latched on to my breasts at 1 pm and only got off for 15 minute naps where she woke up crying and latched on where she would suck for 2 hours alternating breasts and fall asleep for another 15 mins to 1/2 hour, by tuesday night i was a mess she still hadnt stopped and nothing was working she was hungry and getting nothing, we finally had to give her formula she ate 4 ounces fell asleep and slept for 7 hours in the morning my breasts were engorged and she feed happily from them, but after that there was yet again a low supply of milk, so my finace and i decided to formula feed her for the day and i pumped myself to her schedule to see how much i was producing. she eats 4 ounces per feeding and she feeds every 3 to 4 hours, i pumped 16 ounces yesterday and thats all i could get for her. today i had her on my breasts till she pulled off crying where i gave her formula to fill her starving tummy and im going back to the health nurse tommorow, i also noticed the m