Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Really scared! I'm a newbie!

Default Really scared! I'm a newbie!

My baby is coming home next Wednesday. He's been in the NICU for 6 weeks so far. He can latch just fine and will do several sucks when he first latches on, but then he pulls off the breast and cries. He was tube fed and bottle fed until just recently. I had hepatitis E and they were afraid for him to get my milk. Armed with some knowledge I gained here (thanks guys ) I am now allowed to breastfeed. However, I can't get him to suck enough that they'll allow me to exclusively do so. I know it's because of nipple confusion but I need some tips to help with his transition!

Default Re: Really scared! I'm a newbie!

First of all, YAY for your baby coming home!!! That's fabulous news! Second, GOOD FOR YOU for letting those nurses know who's boss and researching what's best for YOUR baby!! It does sound like nipple confusion like he is getting frustrated because it is not coming out as quickly as it does in the bottle. A few suggestions, try gently massaging your breasts a few minutes before latching and applying warm compresses. This should help the milk begin to flow. Also, while he is latched, you may what to do some hand expression to give him an extra "jolt" of milk. Good luck and keep us posted!
    Betsy
    mama to:
    N 5/03
    J 6/07

@llli*emama is offline Shares Widely And Frequently

I would definitely hire a lactation consultant. It's so worth the money. Consult with your local LLL - they'll have someone good for you. Maybe she'll recommend a nipple shield?

Best of luck and congratulations!