Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: YIKES! plugged duct or breast abscess?

Default YIKES! plugged duct or breast abscess?

how can you tell if you have a plugged duct versus a breast abscess? i pump exclusively and have a spot that has been sore for some time (maybe a few weeks) under my right arm pit. it's not red, but it is painful to touch, and the spot/lumps doesn't seem to be going away. i try massaging it when i pump, which helps some, but the lumps never entirely leave. i had never heard of a breast abscess until yesterday when i came across the term while reading a book about breastfeeding. i didn't think much about the painful spot i have under my arm pit until i read about this in the book and wondered, gosh is that what i have? do i have an abscess i wondered?

also, does anyone have any suggestions on how to treat this, whatever it is? thanks for any help!

Default Re: YIKES! plugged duct or breast abscess?

Check out this page - may help you determine the issue
    Click here to find an LLL leader near you...or call 1 877 4 LA LECHE for help now.

"No one can make you feel inferior without your consent."
    Eleanor Roosevelt

"Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail."
    Emerson

Ban the bags. ......... Watch your language. ....... Help keep Dr Newman's clinic open!

We demand that our childcare providers are CPR certified... why don't we demand the same of ourselves! Get certified!

I lost 22 lbs in 8 months... with a bit of determination and common sense information from this book.

do you have a fever?
    I think most of the time moms the abscesses run fevers.

no fever, just a hard/sore lump under the armpit that doesn't seem to go away even after pumping

did you check out the link... probably not mastitis w/o a fever but check it out.
    Click here to find an LLL leader near you...or call 1 877 4 LA LECHE for help now.

Eleanor Roosevelt