Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: 9 Month Old Not Wanting to BF

Exclamation 9 Month Old Not Wanting to BF

Summer is here and school is out. I am a half time Kindergarten Teacher so I was only gone from my son from 8-12. He would get one bottle of ebm every day. Now that I am home all the time, he does not want my boob at that time. He turns away, bites it, and just refuses to eat. He has done this more every day since last Monday. Today is really hot and I offered him bm from me 3 times since his successful morning feed at 6am. He has not been willing to eat at all. I finally gave him water because it is so hot. He also ate more solids but he won't eat from me? Is this because it is different then what he is used to? Is he having a nursing strike? How do I assist the strike to end? Help please.

Default Re: 9 Month Old Not Wanting to BF

Is he nursing at other times or is it a complete strike? If he is just refusing that one feeding and eating other foods, he might actually be self-weaning. My DD did the same thing at about 9 months (just dropped one of her bottle feedings but continued nursing). Now (at almost 1 year) she still nurses morning and night and occasionally in between (especially when the teeth are coming in) but has lost a lot of interest in both bottles and nursing during the day. Others may have better insights, though. This is just my experience.

CJ's mama

It is now a full strike. He has not really fed since yesterday morning at 6am. There have been a few sucks and then screams or biting. It is so frustrating. He is drooling a lot so I wonder if another tooth is coming in. He seems happy though. We have given him some water because it is in the 90's and we have no A/C.