Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Pregnant and milk just stopped...help!

Default Pregnant and milk just stopped...help!

This is my first time on here so I hope that I do this correctly.

I am heading into my 5th month of pregnancy and just realized after a couple of very painful weeks (super-sore nipples), that my milk has dried up completely. My 21 month daughter is just getting over a nasty stomach flu that we all caught while in Disney World. Of all times for milk to dry up, she was so sick and just cried to nurse, which I couldn't do. My heart broke and is still breaking. I imagine this happened while I was so sick for 7 weeks with the worst morning sickness I could have imagined (which ended about a month ago). But now I want to get my milk back. I have tried Fenugreek, took quite a bit of it (7 pills 3 times per day) for 3 days, but still no milk. And I am a little nervous about Fenugreek since I am pregnant. Has anyone else had this happen? Is there any way to get my milk back?

TIA, Angelina

Default Re: Pregnant and milk just stopped...help!

Hi and

Around the five month mark was also when my milk dried up. When your milk supply diminishes during pregnancy, it's usually hormonally related and there's no real way for you to get it back. I too would be leery about taking the Fenugreek while pregnant. (I'm sorry, I know this isn't what you want to hear...). Did you try nursing your daughter anyway? Even though there is no milk there, she might just want the comfort of it. I know a lot of mom's on here have continued to nurse through a pregnancy with little to no milk for baby's comfort only.

Hope you are all feeling better!
    Amber
    Mommy to Bridget (12/20/05) and Brady (9/6/07)

My milk dried up around that time too, but my dd continued to nurse until the colostrum came in. There really isn't much you can do. Dd did pick back up nursing again after a few days of watching her brother do it.

Erin
    Wife to a grizzly