Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Too Much Milk! Please help!

Default Too Much Milk! Please help!

Hi everyone! This is my first time visiting this website and it seems very helpful. I hope you will have some advice to share with me because I'm feeling so frustrated right now.

I have a 1 1/2 week old baby girl. She is about 7 lbs now and growing at a fantastic rate so I know she's eating well. At the hospital she latched on well, although we had to work on her getting her mouth wide enough to not hurt me. But she was great once we got the latch right. When my milk started coming in, there was so much of it. I mean way too much. My breasts get super engorged everytime between feedings and the areolas are too hard to allow her to latch. I've started pumping to get the latch right but I was terrified that I'd just be tricking my breasts to produce even more milk. The pumping has been working great but once yesterday and twice today, Ella got extreemly fussy. She's hungry but I think the milk is coming in way to much and just drips into her mouth to the point that it's overwhelming her. I thought that if I emptied the breast a little more, the milk wouldn't drip as much so I tried pumping more but it was still too much for her to handle. After 3 hours of trying and fussing I got frustated and ended up feeding her expressed milk from a bottle. It made her happy (abd fall right asleep) and me so sad becasue I really really really want to breastfeed and would love to avoid bottle feeding if possible but I think I just have way too much milk for her. What can I do?

Thanks so much for your help!

Default Re: Too Much Milk! Please help!