Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Breast surgery but want to BF

Default Breast surgery but want to BF

My Dr is concerned that I won't be able to BF because I had a breast reduction surgery about 12 years ago. I am 5 months pregnant and I am trying to decide if I should try pumping before the baby gets here so I will know for sure if everything is working properly. Does anyone have any suggestions or advice I could take into consideration? I really want to BF! Please help!
    Last edited by WardsHoney; November 29th, 2007 at 08:15 PM. Reason: forgot to add the part about my breast reduction sorry!

Default Re: Breast surgery but want to BF

I am not an expert but I have heard that you should not try to pump or express milk of any kind while pregnant because stimulating your nipples can cause contractions. My midwife recommended pumping as a way to induce labor after my water broke but I didn't have any contractions. So, I would definitely not want to use a pump at 5 months!

Sorry, but I don't know anything about how breast surgery might affect BF. Someone on here might have a better idea than me. I just thought I would answer what I knew. HTH!

I had a breast reduction surgery in January of 2005, not planning for kids for at least several years. I am now exclusively breastfeeding my 4 and a half month old son, and have since he was born (he was a surprise). I didn't know I would be able to do this until my milk came in 3 days after he was born. My only sign that things were working before the birth was that I would get a bit of white stickyness on my nipples. I was so slight, I thought it might just be sweat with dead skin, but it happened too frequently to not be leakage. I would say that I am lucky, because this is apparently not always the case.