Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: pumping takes a long time

Default pumping takes a long time

Hi there! I'm starting work again soon, and I will be pumping there also hopefully twice a day. I've noticed recently though, that it takes so long for me to pump out all the milk. I'm not overly full, but it just doesn't seem to ever stop. Is there a safe way to speed up this process? I don't want to end a pump session before it's done because I'm afraid it will leave out the hindmilk. I'm a teacher, so I can't be away from my class too long and I only have 30 min for lunch, which is about how long it takes. I have a Medela PIS.

Default Re: pumping takes a long time

Check the min/max dial on the pump. I found that as my son got older I had to crank that up more to mimic the force of his nursing. Plus, I found that for "real" pumping (in place of a nursing session) I needed a higher speed and higher suction.

Good luck to you!

I'm not sure of everyone's experiences, but I've heard and can confirm for mayself, you get more milk pumped when you're actually away from your baby. Mental thing, I guess...
    Sarah- Mommy to Ally (4/16/06) , Katlyn (11/13/07) & Rebekah (10/21/09)
    All three, all natural!

Check out this link..
    http://newborns.stanford.edu/Breastf...roduction.html

I pump twice a day also and I have only 15 - 20 mins... This really helps!
    Married mama with 4 kiddos...2 girls (11 & 6) and 2 boys (21mo & 3mo)

Are you double pumping? I didn't have the money for a hands free kit so I was only pumping one side at a time (to keep one hand free). It took about 30mins. I still don't have a hands free kit but now I double pump and it takes about 10 to 15mins.

I am double pumping. I was considering one of those hands free things....how much are they and where do I get one? I've heard of people making it themselves too. Are they more trouble than they are worth?