Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: increasing amount of time b/t feedings to stretch stomach size?

Default increasing amount of time b/t feedings to stretch stomach size?

pedia is suggesting we increase the amount of time between feedings to stretch stomach size. baby is about 3.5 months old. is it time to think about doing this? i don't know what to think.

Default Re: increasing amount of time b/t feedings to stretch stomach size?

I'm not a doctor but I don't get how going for a longer amount of time without food will make a babies stomach bigger.

sorry, should have clarified - increase time b/t feedings and feed baby twice as much at each feeding (baby is fed through exclusive pumping/bottles)

I've never heard of this before. Did your pedi say why it's necessary? I don't think this would "stretch" a baby's stomach anyway. It's actually better to eat small, frequent meals than to eat a few large ones.
    Sarah- Mommy to Ally (4/16/06) , Katlyn (11/13/07) & Rebekah (10/21/09)
    All three, all natural!

i am living on lack of sleep so i don't recall exactly what she said, i think it had something to do with helping to prevent ear infections by eating less often (baby seems prone to ear infections and eats only from a bottle)

Quote Originally Posted by thecowgirl View Post
    i am living on lack of sleep so i don't recall exactly what she said, i think it had something to do with helping to prevent ear infections by eating less often (baby seems prone to ear infections and eats only from a bottle)
    I know how difficult it can be to function on little sleep. But if you're remembering your conversation right, it sounds like you got some pretty weird advice! I have never heard that eating less frequently would lead to fewer ear infections, nor can I imagine how this would work.