Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pump parts and bisphenol-A

Default Pump parts and bisphenol-A

Hi everyone, I recently learned about the bisphenol-A present in the polycarbonate Avent bottles I've been using for 6 months and discarded them all in favor of non-polycarbonate bottles this weekend.

However, now I'm worried about my breast pump. I use an Ameda Purely Yours and the pump parts and milk collection bottles all seem to be made of the same clear hard material, but I can't find any markings that would tell me for sure. Does anyone have any info? I am looking for the customer service to call them and ask.

Thanks for your help.

( Who else is PISSED that they didn't hear about bisphenol-A dangers earlier??? )
    Sarah
    mommy to Liam, born 2/15/07
    14 months of breastfeeding and counting!

"The amount of time I spend attached to this machine..." - Officer Danni Sofer on her breast pump, on "The Shield"

Another cloth convert

Default Re: Pump parts and bisphenol-A

I am rather soured myself!!!
    Here is a good link I found....perhaps there is info. in there that can answer your question. HTH and keep us posted!!!

http://www.newbornfree.com/Default.aspx?pid=3417

*NOTE...yes it is a link to a particular bottle maker, but you will find many many many headlines and sub stories covering Bisphenol-A.
    Last edited by RooS MummY; September 17th, 2007 at 10:06 AM. Reason: typo

chazzi, thanks for the link!

Bisphenol A leaches from baby bottles with regular washings, even if the bottles are not heated.

Oh, that's just great. </heavy sarcasm> I have been careful to wash my pump and bottles in hot water, and for the first few months I sterilized my pump parts according to manufacturer's instructions. Now I'm afraid even to wash them at all!
    Sarah

"The amount of time I spend attached to this machine..." - Officer Danni Sofer on her breast pump, on "The Shield"

Another cloth convert