Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pumping while flying

Default Pumping while flying

This is for the airline moms out there who would like to continue nursing when going back to work. I am an airline pilot and have been back to work for 3 months and am still nursing. I pump on the road and store my milk in an Igloo cooler purchased at Target which has the solid container on the inside, soft outside, zipper top with a velcro area on top for easy access. I continuously restock with ice at every stop. I usually scavenge dry ice from the caterers. I am on the road for up to 6 days and as soon as I get home I throw all the milk into the freezer. My baby is doing great at 8 months. There was not much info out there for us flying moms so I am winging it and have to share my experiences and would love to know of others.

Default Re: Pumping while flying

Thank you for that information!!!! I am getting ready to go out of the country for 17 days in October and, though I plan to pump and dump during that time (it breaks my heart!), it helps to know that other people are away from their babies for extended periods and still manage to keep nursing!!!!!!!
    In fact, I just got off the phone with my mom who offered the suggestion that she could "switch the baby to formula" while I'm away. I was ready to crawl through the phone at her, after all the hard work I put into developing this nursing relationship!!!!!
    Do you continue to nurse your baby on the days that you are home? If so, how was your LO the first time that you left for several days? Was your LO difficult to get back to the breast when you returned or was it like you never left??