Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbee questions...

Default Newbee questions...

Hello, this is my first time visiting this site and I hope you can be of some help to me I am a first time mom and have a baby girl due on the 13th of September. I have quit my job so that I can be a stay at home mom and care for and breastfeed my baby. This is very important to me. My main concern though is that I have inverted nipples. I have done much reseach on this issue, and I know it is still very possible to breastfeed successfully. I guess it would just be comforting to hear some success stories or to get some reasurance. I also had a few questions... I was given a breastpump and have purchased bottles to include my husband in feeding our baby. Of course we will wait for quite a while before introducing the bottle, but is it a bad idea to introduce it at all with my problem and the possibility of nipple confusion? And what if she has problems for a long period of time and isn't getting enough milk, I would be forced to pump and bottlefeed anyway right? How far would this set me back? Also, is there anything anyone has done to prepare your nipples before birth that has helped make breastfeeding more successful with inverted nipples?

Thank you for any help or answers you can provide!

Default Re: Newbee questions...

have you talked to your local leader?
    Look her up before the baby comes, and get to a meeting if you can.
    You'll learn so much about breastfeeding and mothering and gain some confidance that you will be able to breastfeed.

One of the most important things is going to be getting the baby to get a good latch every single time they breastfeed.
    IF you can learn before the baby comes what a good latch looks like that will help.
    here a good clip to start with
    http://newborns.stanford.edu/Breastf...uteHelper.html
    look around that web site and let me know what you think.
    http://www.thebirthden.com/Newman.html