Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: An embarrassing question

Default An embarrassing question

Hi ladies,

I have an embarrassing/sensitive question to ask if anyone has experienced this. I guess mostly I'm looking for support and advice.

My son only nurses on my right side. He is two years and refused my left side (which was always my low producer) shortly after his first birthday. I had tried pumping for a few weeks to keep my supply up when he first refused but let it go when he showed no signs of returning to nursing on that side. We are still nursing frequently on just my right side. He has always been a "hands-on" nurser, wanting to grab and squeeze, pinch and poke, even rolling his fingers with my breasts, even my left side that he calls "mommy's nummy". In the last few weeks my left side has become extremely sensitive and when he has wanted to squeeze and touch, even gently, it is very uncomfortable because it feels very sexually stimulating. I hate it. My problem is that he is SO MAD at me for refusing to let him have "mommy's nummy". I have tried being gentle with him telling him "no touch, not comfortable, or I don't like it, owie boo boo (his word for hurt), I have told him flat out no, given him other comfort things to hold or squeeze, turning on my left side so he has limited accesss, wearing long shirts so little hands can't go wandering. Last night he was so mad at me, he refused to nurse at all, then wanted to stay up and play with his daddy until he was too exhausted to care later. He nurses to sleep almost 100% still, and so won't fall alseep any other way.