Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Spitting up & Nipple Pain... recommendations?? advice????

Exclamation Spitting up & Nipple Pain... recommendations?? advice????

Hello Ladies... I have 2 questions ....

1. My LO (he is turning 3 weeks tomorrow) will get very fussy then burp and spit up, Then he will continue to fuss, so I give him a pacifier, he spits it out, then I will finally give him the breast and he is content. Then after the burp, he will spit up some more. It seems like he is eating too much. Is that possible? I am only giving him breast milk, primarily from the breast, occasionally from the bottle. This is my first time not using formula with my childern, so I am not quite sure of what is "normal". Am I over-feeding him?

2. I have some nipple pain when I get a let-down and especially when my LO takes his first few sucks. After the first few (maybe 5 -10) it doesn't hurt anymore, unless he is doing a really hard and deep suck, then that hurts at first also. Is this normal?? I have some lansinosh (sp?) but I don't use it consistently, I am not sure if it actually works. Will this initial pain go away, or will it be there forever?? I think that he is latched on correctly because the pain does go away, and I try to make sure that his mouth is open wide when he latches on. Are there any suggestions to make the pain go away?? Should I put the lanolin on more often?? BTW - I don't have cracked nipples or anything like that.

Thanks in advance for your help

Default Re: Spitting up & Nipple Pain... recommendations?? advice????