Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: when do i start?

Default when do i start?

if i am going back to work in 6 weeks, when should i start trying to build a stash in the freezer? i am a sped teacher and get no breaks so i will not be able to pump at school while i am away (likelihood..i may get one session if lucky) any advice on start date and how to have enough w/out pumping at work more than once?

Default Re: when do i start?

More experienced moms will probably have more advice, but I would start stashing your freezer now. My suggestion would be to pump first thing in the morning, then feed baby before you leave for work. Pump as often as you're able to at work, and then nurse baby as soon as you get home as often as he/she will nurse at night, then pump again after baby goes to bed. And nurse like crazy on the weekends. Drink lots of water and get plenty of rest (ha- it's hard to not laugh at that one). Good luck!

thanks. yeah, "rest" ha-ha, what is that? i forget. i'm just worried b/c i am not sure i'll be able to pump at work even once.

Can you pump on your lunch break? I'm a teacher, and that's the only time I was able to pump. I'm not SPED though, so I know you may have a different situation.

I also suggest you start pumping now. I started when my LO was about 4 weeks old, and by the time I went back to work when she was 12 weeks old I had a ton of milk stashed. I always pumped right after her first morning feeding and right before bed. Once I went back to work, I still pumped after her first feeding (I put that milk in a bottle for her to have at daycare) and before I went to bed.

I was able to successfully pump enough to exclusively bf her, she never had to have any formula. So it CAN be done! But I was an absolute slave to that pump for many, many months. But it sure was worth it!
    Bee- proud mama to Maggie, 6/12/06 and Maya, 10/15/08