Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: how to stop pulling?

Default how to stop pulling?

Bianca and I have been nursing for a year and it's been pretty smooth since two months pp but now she pulls back when she is feeding. I have tried to gently say no and take her off when she does it (this worked when she tried biting), placing my arm behind her head (but she just pulls harder), distracting her with a nursing necklace/singing etc (this worked when she decided to play with my nipples while nursing), and changing positions but nothing seems to help. She doesn't do it all the time but it is getting more common and it is making my nipples really sore. I have loved nursing but it is becoming unpleasant - any suggestions?

Default Re: how to stop pulling?

the nursing necklace usually works. i wore a plastic hawaiian lei when DD did that to me. seemed to work. in the meanwhile, try a baby-safe breast balm. gerber makes a good one, and it works.

Keep trying the things you listed. What you're describing sounds frustrating and uncomfortable as you mentioned. Have your arm dedicated and available to brace the back of her head if she tries to pull away.

So many things are going on in that growing head of hers. She wants more freedom and flexibility. Teeth coming in and moving around. There continue to be more and more things she wants to do. One minute she'll want milk - then to read a book - the next second it's to go outside - no, wait lets have more milk...on and on....

She could also be experimenting with getting the milk out faster or slower. Notice what's going on when she pulls. Had you milk already let down. Has she been nursing for a little bit and maybe the flow has slowed down but she wants it to come faster. Maybe if you unlatch her put her back on the other side?

Hang in there...

Quote Originally Posted by Anne2780 View Post