Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Cleaning Question

Default Cleaning Question

I have the Medela PIS that I have been using for about 6 months. I pump when away from dd. My question is is that for the past few weeks I have been having a hard time cleaning the attachment that connects the sheild to the bottle(not sure what it's called). Especially one side is getting molding right in the middle where nothing that I have for cleaning will fit.I have used a bottle brush the small side, I have used a tooth pick, I boiled them yesterday for what seemed like forever and I have even tried the dishwasher and nothing works efficiently. Any tips? Much appreciated!!

Default Re: Cleaning Question

do you mean on the tubing? I have a medela lactina and my tubing is all grimey and i've wondered the same thing....
    maybe someone knows the answer...

Mine gets that way and I boil the parts for about 15 minutes....then take a toothpick and little bitty bit of a paper towel to the inside parts. Most of the time this works. Boiling helps loosen up the moldy stuff...I also have replaced just that part a few times....some website will sell medela PIS parts fairly cheaply, though I can't remember the exact site! Have you tried boiling with soap in the water? I do that for icky pots and pans....it might work for this too.

We have Dr. Brown's bottles for daycare and they come with a very small little brush to clean all the extra parts they have.
    Those brushes are perfect for that connector piece from my PIS adavnced (I assume the part in question is the same).
    So I soak the part in a dish of hot soapy water for a bit and then go after it with the litte brush. I also had the yellow piece that the membrane snaps into stuck on one of them for quite some time and had to have my DH pry it off (I told him if he broke it that was ok - it was too dirty to keep using that way). And I was able to get that one all cleaned back up with the little brush.