Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: postpartum anxiety

Question postpartum anxiety

I'm not sure where to post this, but here goes
    the past few weeks ive been feeling not quite right. I read all about ppd, and i dont think thats what im dealing with. I think i might have postpartum anxiety/panic. I am going to see my dr next week about it, but has anyone every dealt with this. How was it treated? Is there a resource on this condition on the website?
    tia
    gabby

Smile Re: postpartum anxiety

Hi! I'm no expert, but I read this and I know that after my twins were born I was completely LOONEY! It was almost a year before I went to my doctor and got medication...it was like waking up from a nightmare! I just had my third child last August, and this time I knew what to expect, but I also was on my medication and it made an enormous difference. I just feel more able to cope and enjoy everything...you can't enjoy a newborn when your not right yourself! Are you a first time mom? I just know that the first one is such a life altering experience...nothing is ever the same. I guess some people are able to deal with that can of change, but I wasn't. I got help and I am so glad I did!

Default Re: postpartum anxiety

oh, i didnt know that there was anything you could take while bf-ing. I had panic attacks in the past, but thry gave me xanax and i know thats a no-no.
    i have a 9 year old also, but i think the anxiety has come along since then.
    i am just totally freaking out...i can't sleep(and leif is sleeping throught the night most of the time)i lay awake at night thinking about death. isnt that horrible. anything from accidents to murder to miscarriage, and im not even pg, but i think about next time...i lay awake thinking about it and wake up having nightmares about it.
    i am at my wits end
    oh and i'm havinf panic attacks in the car, if leif cries and i cant get to him...
    ugh