Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Red bumps on areola

Question Red bumps on areola

I've been nursing for several months now and I have a new nipple issue. It's like my one nipple is breaking out with a rash. Any ideas? (BTW, I know about the montgomery glands, which secreted tiny bits of oil even before I was pregnant.) These are a cluster of dry red spots, just above my nipple.

I noticed them Wed on my right nipple and today they are also on my left nipple.

I mentioned this yesterday on another thread, but got no response, so I thought perhaps this might work. My son has been going through a growth spurt with more cluster feeding than normal, which is saying a lot, since he's always been an evening nursing fiend! Anyway, with the growth spurt came this rash and new soreness. They are almost like bite marks, but of course I've ruled that out. Any ideas?

Default Re: Red bumps on areola

Maybe a rash from moisture? I had that when DD was little and nursed a lot. Maybe try a little mommy nakey time when you can to see if it helps?

Thanks for the suggestion. It doesn't seem like an irritation for moisture and I guess I'm wondering if anything else is going on... especially since now both sides are involved. When do I need to worry?

You don't think it's thrush do you? Any shooting pains in breast or white patches in DD mouth? Sometimes, there are hardly any symptoms, sometimes, there are a slew.

Have a blessed day! Maria
    Romans 12:2

Do the bumps itch? Has there been any change in your laundry detergent? Soap? Lotion? Is your baby eating solids?

I guess I'm wondering if it could be thrush or some other type of infection/complication that needs to be treated. DS has no symptoms.