Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Working - Baby Not Eating at Day Care!!! Please Help!

Default Working - Baby Not Eating at Day Care!!! Please Help!

Hi,
    I have been working for about 1 1/2 months now, and the last 2-3 weeks my 4 mo baby will not eat during the day - sometimes taking as little as 5 oz while we are apart (9 hours).
    I can tell her weight is going down. When we get home in the afternoon, she will nurse for an hour or so. Then 2-3 more times before I go to bed. I have been letting her sleep with my husband and me so that I can nurse her at night (she was sleeping through the night before i went back to work).
    I also worry about my supply. I used to get 5 oz from each side each time I pumped, now I only get 3 per side in the afternoons. I am really worried that my production is going down.
    Any thoughts on how to help baby eat more during the day and how to keep my production up while I am at work?

Default Re: Working - Baby Not Eating at Day Care!!! Please Help!

Baby may not be taking much during the day due to many reasons - not liking the bottle nipple, or temp, or position held in, or activity in the room, or something else totally. Can you talk to the caregivers to work with them to find out what might be upsetting baby?

Sounds like you are doing what she needs when you're together.

For supply, tell us more about what kind of pump you are using, and your pumping schedule.
    Shannon
    LLL Leader

Protect your privacy online; don't use your full name. Click My Alias at the top left corner.

I'm horrible at html and encoding links, so I apologize in advance for all the long links!

i usually pump after i feed baby in the morning - around 7am. then again at work at 10:30am. then at 3pm. i am usually home in the evenings by 6pm.
    i am using a medela pump in style.