Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: 5 months old and not enouth milk

Default 5 months old and not enouth milk

my daughter is now 5 months old and eveything has gone smoothly with the brest feeding untill about 4 months. i have started working out really hard again and now i seem to be having trouble getting enough milk. if i pump every 2 hours i get about 2 or 3 onzes (i dont pump at night) but she has started eating 5 or 6 oz bottles now at day care. i know that i dont have that much in me when she is brest feading. i am taking the suppliment called mothers milk. is there anything else i can do to help production? i pump about 3 or 4 times a day if i wait 6 or 7 hours between feedings then i get enough but i dont have enough of a suply built up to wait that long i know im not far off but i need more milk help...:
    Last edited by carrie mother of evie; May 10th, 2007 at 07:52 AM.

Default Re: 5 months old and not enouth milk

I'm no expert, but I wonder if it might help if you pump more frequently? Because milk is produced based on demand, it sounds like if you're waiting until you have "enough", your body may be getting the message that you don't need to make as much milk. If you pump or nurse more frequently, I think you'll find that your supply increases. And of course, make sure you're taking in enough fluids and eating well--and sleeping!

2-3 ounces is acceptable output for pumping every two hours.
    Here is what is more likely going on: