Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Constant Milk Clog

Red face Constant Milk Clog

Hey, have a question, I have been pumping for over 6 months. Recently, I have my duct was clogged for over 2 days. I finally was able to express the milk out, however, I keep getting clogged every other day on the same breast at the same site. I have no idea what is going on and I just want to stop the clogging. I use heat compress everytime when I get clogged and it usually works after 45 minutes. Some people said I am too stress out (with 1 toddler and 6 months old baby, and a full-time job) and I need to relax. I just want to know is there anything I can do to prevent future milk clog? Something I should avoid to eat? Thanks.

Default Re: Constant Milk Clog

First, keep up being proactive about emptying it. Also, feed your LO on that side as much as you can to empty it out as much as possible.
    Sometimes moist heat works better than dry heat, fyi.
    Are you wearing a restrictive bra at all? underwire? Maybe try skipping that for a few days.
    As for diet, try cutting out as much saturated fat as you can, and take lecithin supplements. Drink plenty of water.
    Good luck!

Molly

Loving mama to JP (DS, 1/03 ~ nursed 6 mos), EL (DD1, 9/05 ~ nursed 4 yrs), EJ (DD2, 3/08 ~ nursed 3 yrs 9 mos), and
    JM (DD3, 6/12 ~ currently nursing), all born naturally
    Devoted wife to SAHD P, my hero
    A few of my favorite things that I've discovered on the forum: co-sleeping, baby-wearing, tandem nursing, baby-led solids, cloth diapering, APing, selective vaccination...the list goes on

Thanks! I'll try it. I am currently pumping every 3 hours, do I need to pump more frequently?

Quote Originally Posted by louisafailam View Post
    Thanks! I'll try it. I am currently pumping every 3 hours, do I need to pump more frequently?