Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Please Help - I am new at this!!

Default Please Help - I am new at this!!

I am a first time mom and new to these forums so I am a little unclear with all the acronyms. My daughter is 1 month old and I am the first person in my family to breastfeed (or attempt it). I have been breastfeeding my daughter and supplementing with formula (doctors orders). Eversince the day she was born we have had issues. We surpassed the scabbed nipples and now I am thinking it's latching on issues. When she initially latches on I get an extreme pain in my nipple that after about a minute the pain goes away and she feeds fine; but my nipples will get slightly sore after she's done. Looking at her jawline the entire time - it doesnt seem as if she is biting but I could be wrong. I've tried repositioning her and breast compression and nothing changes that initial feeling. Anyone have any suggestions - I am open to trying everything and anything - I don't want to quit breastfeeding - I just want to fix whatever is wrong so my daughter and I can enjoy this experience. Please help!!!

Default Re: Please Help - I am new at this!!

Welcome! I had the same problem with the pain. Also everyone I talk to seems to have it too. My LLL told me it does hurt at the beginning. The pain was a sign that my girl was latching on. Some babies just have a strong suction. It will go away as your nipples get used to it

don't be afraid to look up your local leader she can help
    http://www.llli.org/WebUS.html
    pick your state at that link.

Cracked and bleeding nipples sometimes take a while to heal.
    What are you using to heal them?
    heres a link about healing nipples.
    http://www.kellymom.com/bf/concerns/...lehealing.html