Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Desperate for Help!!

Red face Desperate for Help!!

I gave birth 1 month ago, at first breastfeeding was a breeze and then I came home to a world of disaster thanks to my mom-in-law. I started giving bottles to my beautiful baby and breastfed less and less and also stopped pumping.

Now that things finally calmed down (3 weeks later) I am desperately trying to get back into breasfeeding and I am trying to wean my baby off the bottle and formula. Can someone help me? I want to give my child the best!

Default Re: Desperate for Help!!

Nurse you baby as much as possible and start pumping again. I am not an expert and you will get a lot of advice from much more experienced moms than I but I have had to supplement my LO since he was a preemie. Hang in there, I was on the verge of losing my supply and I am now doing very well. It takes some work but you will get there.
    Best of luck and congratulations on your little one.

Drop everything and spend time with your baby. Strip baby down to just diaper, take your clothes off from the waist up, and snuggle up in bed together. This will help get your hormones going and encourage your baby to nurse (warm baths are great for this too). Always offer the breast first at a feeding, and get in to a pumping routine so you can offer mommy's milk instead of formula until you can get off the suppliments.

Hang in there. I'm sure you can do it.
    Rachel

Mama to my precious girls, Abigail and Naomi

"When we consider that women are treated as property, it is degrading to women that we should treat our children as property to be disposed of as we see fit." - Elizabeth Cady Stanton in a letter to Julia Ward Howe, October 16, 1873. Recorded in Howe's diary at Harvard University Library.