Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: And I thought I was a professional nurser

Default And I thought I was a professional nurser

I don't know where to start. I nursed my son until he was 4 years old. I thought I knew everything there was about nursing and I was not the least bit nervous when my son was born in January I took for granted that we would have the same experience as before. My doctor told me to supplement because he was 5 oz from his birth weight at his 3 week check-up. He also told me that my milk probably did not have enough "fat calories" and it was better to be safe than sorry. Well I started giving him 2 bottles a day each 2 ounces for a total of 4 oz of formula a day. When we went back in 5 days he had gained 10 oz and I was elated! The doctor told me that the formula did not put the weight on him and everything was fine. The problem was that I started doubting my self and starting giving 3 bottles a day and he started crying and screaming when I tried to nurse him. He acts like I am doing something terrible to him I can't console him at all. The only time he will half way nurse is in the early morning when he is still asleep. Then I get all excited and think we are going to have a good day and It goes like the rest I offer the breast he refuses and he gets a bottle. I have tried to feed him with a syringe and out of a cup and that did not work at all. He also takes some time to latch on to the bottle he acts like he can't find the nipple when it is in his mouth. I have bought a double breast pump and have been pumping for a month with little luck because I can't let down to the pump. I really want to nurse this baby because he is my last child and I have such special memories with my older son. I feel un-natural holding a bottle and very un-comfortable. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Default Re: And I thought I was a professional nurser