Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Very Confused

Default Very Confused

Hi I'm a newbie

My son is 3 weeks old. Recently, he's been latching on for like 10 minutes on each side after 3-5 hours (I just don't seem to be able to wake him up for 2-3 hours feedings. I tried to tickle his feet, rub the chin, pat his butt, but he just don't seem to wake up). when he latches on his sucking is not very consistence, he sucks and then he falls asleep, and sometime he pulls it out and then relatches. Also for one feeding it take me more that 1 hour for him to get 10 minutes on each side. In the meantime he's getting enough wet diapers. Is this normal? I'm just afraid he's not getting enough. I don't know if this has to do to the fact that once or twice in the day I give him the bottle.

Also, people are telling me different things about pumping. If I pump too much my milk supply will end. Is this true? Some people are telling me to pump after my son latches on so it can simulate the milk supply (then this would require me to pump consistency).

Please help.

Default Re: Very Confused

Hi there!
    Now, I am not an expert, but I do have a 6 month old who BF's exclusively, so hopefully I can be of some help.
    Looking back to when Autumn was just 3 weeks old, she would sometimes nurse and nurse and nurse and then sometimes she would just latch on and latch off. At that age it seemed like she was still learning...
    As long as your baby is happy and having enough bowel movements and wet diapers, I wouldn't worry too much. It might be a good idea to check with your Dr. though to make sure your son is gaining enough weight.
    As far as the bottle goes: it could be confusing your son a little...is there any way you could eliminate the bottle?