Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Planning in advance here...

Default Planning in advance here...

So, now my 9 day old DS and I have got our BF down (thanks to help I found on here) and he's gaining weight nicely and happy and healthy. I am hoping to keep this up but I know returning to work in 4-6 weeks. My DH will be taking care of him until he starts work in July.

My job has long hours, to put it mildly. I'm an intern which means as many as 80 hours per week. I have lots of questions since I want this relationship to last even when I'm back at work.

1. What can I do now for DS to store BM?
    2. How should it work when I go back and my hours can be from 6:30am - 5pm or as late as 11pm or until noon the next day? Is putting the BM in a cooler reasonable as "refrigeration"?
    3. WHERE am I going to pump? I can pump in the car on the way to work or to clinic when I go off-site. But where can I find a quiet place in the hospital where I won't have to answer pages every 5 minutes? Is it reasonable to ask DH to bring DS in once during the day to nurse when he's so young and can be exposed to god knows what?

Any help you can give me now so I can help my DS down the line would be greatly appreciated! I'm sure I'm not the first to go through this, and I won't be the last! I know plenty of residents that are moms, I just don't know any that BF successfully...

Default Re: Planning in advance here...

Congrats on your new arrival, it is great that you are getting ready and prepared for your return to work so early
    1. You can start pumping once or twice a day - usually in the morning after the first meals of your LO. I use Lansinoh and Gerber bags to store the milk. Store about 4 oz in each bag.