Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Letter to Adeline On Her One Year Birthday ...

Default Letter to Adeline On Her One Year Birthday ...

This is an edited down, rough draft version of a letter I wrote to Addie to share with her today at her one year birthday party, and to give to her when she is older. I am so sad today ... but I keep reminding myself that nothing is going to drastically change now that she is one ... tomorrow will be exactly the same as today ... my angel will still nurse to sleep and snuggle next to me all night, she'll still desperately need mommy to pick her up and sling her all day, she'll still want to nurse just as much as she looks into my eyes with that sweet, contented look ... no magic thing is happening to my girl today to whisk the remainder of her baby self away! And yet, I am saddened at the thought of those baby months being forever in the past.

So, I wrote her this letter, even though I am a poor writer and am not able to articulate my intense motions for this little girl into mere words. Everything I thought to write down pales in comparison to the deep love I have for her.

Okay here it is ...

My precious girl ...

I can't believe you are turning one year old in less than 24 hours. It seems like just yesterday you were sleeping 20 hours a day curled up on my chest, so helpless and fragile, so brand new to this world. And today you are this spirited, miniature person just bursting with personality. And yet, even though this most perfect year has flown by ... I feel as though you and I have known each other forever. Like we were soul mates that just hadn't connected until the day you were born. You are my constant companion and my best friend. My play mate and my sweet sleeping angel. You crack me up constantly with your wild moods, and spunky attitude. Even when you are being a little stinker I love you with my whole heart and soul.