Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: HELP! Pumping at work

Default HELP! Pumping at work

Hello! I am brand new to LLL! I am very excited I came across this site! I love gaining knowledge and learning more about breastfeeding. Here is some background info. Currently my son is 8 months old. I went back to work when he was 4 month so old. Prior to coming back to work I was exclusively breastfeeding until a month before I came back to work. I started bottle feeding a few times a day to get a feel for how much milk he would need while I was at work. Everything went great when I returned to work. I've been very disciplined with my pumping schedule to make sure my supply stays strong. I would breastfeed him in the morning and evening (before and after work as I work full time). Within the past month or so I became very obsessed with ensuring I have enough milk for him. Basically what I pump today will be used for his bottles while I am at work tomorrow. There are times where I feel I have plenty of milk and times like the past month where I feel I might not have enough. The past month I haven't breastfed my son very often. It must have been about 2 weeks when I realized I haven't breastfed him. I guess I kept worrying if I breastfeed him it will mess up how many bottles I will have for tomorrow. Well this past weekend I went to breastfeed him and he wouldn't take it. He fussed and fussed. I was in shock. Since then I've tried 2 more times. The second time same exact thing. The third time I let him sit up and tried to see if he would take it on his own. He started to suck a few times then just stopped and wouldn't take it. I have since read numerous articles. It's hard to find information that is for someone in my situation. I primarily pump and my son is bottle fed the majority of the time. I feel bad because I felt like I was so focused on my milk supply that I forgot about the connection we have when he does breastfeed. I am looking for advice on how to re-introduce