Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Nursing/pumping 17-mo-old. Done pumping! Varied schedule ...

Default Nursing/pumping 17-mo-old. Done pumping! Varied schedule ...

Hi mamas,

I'm still nursing my 17-month-old and love it. But I finally started feeling the other day that I might be over the pump. I've been pumping for 17 months now and I'm just plain tired of it. And it would feel so good to do something for ME.

The problem is that LO still nurses and I am not home consistently as I'm in grad school. I'm away from him 4 work days (home in the evening) and home with him 1 day plus weekends.

He is VERY attached to nursing. Right now he nurses at wake, before and after nap, and at bed (with the occasional night-nurse session). Even if it is a day I am at work or school, I do the wake and bed nursings. I leave 5-6 oz for whoever is watching him during the day for the before/after nap bottle.

It seems like it is a double issue - whether he is able to be put down for nap without milk (thinking about it seems impossible, though I'm sure he could adjust eventually ... right?!) AND also what happens if I don't pump. Typically I pump 3x on days I am away, and usually I make enough to replace the 5-6oz that I leave plus a little extra. Of course if I've been sick or not hydrated, I'll pump less.

Any thoughts? I feel stuck.

Default Re: Nursing/pumping 17-mo-old. Done pumping! Varied schedule

If you are over the pump, you probably can gradually wean off the pump. Your baby can continue to nurse as much as you and he like.

If you reduce pumping, you can expect your overall milk production to reduce some. But if baby is eager to nurse lots, that will help offset this problem. If you find it reducing too much, you can add back in pumping if needed. I think this is unlikely but it all depends on how mom's body responds to the reduced milk extraction.