Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Milk Running Out at 7 months?!

Default Milk Running Out at 7 months?!

Hello all,

This is my first time posting. I have been EBF since baby was born. My baby girl turned 7 months last Thursday. I returned to work around the time she turned 4 months. I work part time (between 4-6 hours a day, but am out of the house ~between 6-7 hours per day). I pump at least once a day sometimes twice. My baby used to take one breast per feeding and was perfectly satisfied. Hence I would only pump one breast at a time. Recently I have started offering the second breast because she didn't seem satiated and would cry and come off the first boob. So I started pumping both boobs simultaneously. My period returned about 1.5-2 months ago. I've also noticed that my boobs feel much softer and it seems like there is less milk in them. What really got me suspicious about a low supply is that baby starts crying after taking both boobs. Although, I will squeeze my boob and see a little milk come out after she's come off and crying. I have to give her a bottle of stored breast milk and she will drink another 3-4 oz after eating from the breast. I am now wondering if I need to start supplementing with formula. Any thoughts/input would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!
    Last edited by @llli*ysandigursky; June 20th, 2016 at 07:37 PM. Reason: Incomplete

Default Re: Milk Running Out at 7 months?!

Hi! Just to clarify: is your baby's fussing and crying your only reason for thinking your supply is dropping? Because from what the ladies taught me on here, the main gauge of baby getting enough milk is poop/pee out put and weight. How are both of these?

In terms of the bottle, babies will often gulp from bottles when they aren't hungry, so I don't think that is a reliable metric of baby's hunger.

Boobs normally feel softer around 7 months!