Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Leaving my 3 month old overnight

Default Leaving my 3 month old overnight

My in-laws are taking my kids tonight. They live 2 hours away and offered to babysit for us while we go to a company party and we will pick up the kids in the morning.

My baby just turned 3 months. We bed share. I have no idea how often he wakes at night since I don't really wake up and my eyes are bad so I can't see the clock.

I've packed him about 24oz of my oldest frozen milk and instructions to only thaw one bag of milk at a time. My in laws never breast-fed and I don't really feel like they "get it" --that it is important it is to try not to waste milk and make sure not to feed the baby right before I get there and not overfeed. Sometimes they just will do whatever they think is right regardless of what I tell them.

We will be apart for about 20 hours. I am feeling really nervous and sad. I have never done a night away from an EBF baby before, I didn't leave my first baby until he was over 2.

What can I do to prepare better? I spent last night awake putting little notes on my frozen bags of milk and writing things down. I don't want to come across as crazy and untrusting. I get a knot in my stomach when I think about it though...

*I have a double electric pump at home, and will pump to replace the frozen milk I am sending.
    Jack, my nursling (Oct 2015) Kevin, my preschooler (Mar 2012)

Default Re: Leaving my 3 month old overnight