Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Weaning/supplementing 8 month old

Unhappy Weaning/supplementing 8 month old

I am devastated to have to say that I have to supplement with (or possibly fully wean to) formula. My body simply will not produce enough milk. I've been working so hard for several months now to try to increase my milk to no avail. Yes, I have tried everything. I mean everything. I've spoken to LLL leaders, a nutritionist, 2 lactation consultants, and two different doctors now. I just don't make enough for my baby anymore thanks to my cycle.

So I need help. I need to get my daughter to take formula. I thought it'd be as simple as starting with just one bottle a day and mixing 75% breastmilk with 25% formula (one bottle because that's all I can pump in a day). But she won't even take a bottle of 100% breastmilk anymore! She used to but now she acts like it's revolting, even when it's freshly expressed! I tried switching to a faster flow in the same bottles she was used to. Nope. I tried Tommee Tippee and Dr Browns bottles. Nope. I got a transitional sippy cup that has the bottle nipple then the soft spout. Tried both and tried with no lid. Same result. Tried a hard spout sippy. Nothing. She just chews on straw sippy cups. All these were just with 100% breastmilk. I already feel like **** that I can't give her enough and that I don't know how long it's been going on.

I also can't have my husband try because he's gone all day and she's in bed most nights before he's home (minus weekends but she needs extra food every day, can't just do it 2x a week). So...anyone....anything. I'm desperate at this point.

Default Re: Weaning/supplementing 8 month old

Welcome to the forum!

Can you give us the rundown on what you are experiencing? It would help to know the following:
    - Why you and your caregivers think you have low supply- I am guessing that there is some sort of issue with weight gain?