Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Should I try elimination diet??

Default Should I try elimination diet??

Hi ladies. This is my first time posting. I have a 6 week old baby girl who I EBF. Since day one she has spit up. And I mean a lot!!! I also have 2 other children I breastfed and they never spit up as much as this little one. I have tried everything, burping her very frequently, keeping her at incline after feedings and nothing has helped. She was born at 6lbs 15oz and now weighs 9lbs 15oz as of today at exactly 6 weeks old. So weight gain isn't really an issue. I do think I have a little OALD as she chokes a little sometimes but I'm trying to pull her off when I feel the letdown coming for a moment. She does seem to be a bit colicky though. She is very fussy throughout the day and nothing really seems to help. She sometimes will seem so frantic to nurse throwing her head from side to side but won't actually suck when I offer it to her. So maybe she's in pain??? She poops and pees great! No mucous or blood in stool. No eczema. The pediatrician gave me Zantac to try to see if it would give her relief but it literally does not help at all. I guess my question is, should I try giving up at least dairy to see if she will be less fussy and spit up less or is this not likely my problem??

Default Re: Should I try elimination diet??

I don't see any reason to do any diet changes based on what you describe. Spitting up, even large amounts and frequently, is normal. Fussiness, even baby being much more fussy than her siblings, is normal. The throwing her head around sounds like it may be normal rooting behavior as baby searches for your body (not just your breast) in space. Many babies need that security and it is not that they won't nurse but that they can't unless they are oriented to your body, pressed against you at several points. So this may be helped by changing your nursing position. What positions do you typically nurse in?