Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Looming business trip -- need help!

Default Looming business trip -- need help!

Hi there!

This is my first post here so thank you very much in advance!

I am a writer who works from home. This has enabled me and my daughter to have a great breastfeeding relationship. She's never taken a bottle (translation: refuses), and I nurse her to sleep for all naps and bedtime. She sleeps in her crib from 7:30 - about 2:00 am when she comes to our bed and then nurses off and on until morning. That said, she is pretty dependent on me to sleep. I have a business trip at the end of January that will require me to be away from my girl for three nights. Needless to say, I am freaking out. My mom, whom she loves dearly, will be staying at our home with her. I would love some advice or suggestions as to how I can prepare her for this trip. I am not ready to wean nor is she, but I know we need another way for her to get to sleep. My husband is ready to try to more stern methods like cry it out, but I can't bring myself to do that to her or me. Again, thank you so much for your help and support!

Default Re: Looming business trip -- need help!

How old is your daughter?

If I were in your position, the only thing that would probably work for me is gentle controlled crying methods to wean her off the nursing-to-sleep solution. I'm sorry I don't have other advice {{hugs}}.
    Mom to Samuel J.
    born 7lb. 10 oz. and 22" tall
    on Saturday, October 19, 2013.

My breastfeeding experiences: http://www.breastfeedinghacks.com/

Hi. It might help to know how old baby is, but in general here is what I think.

Situations like this are not about preparing baby for the separation. It is about preparing caregivers for baby.