Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Safe to decrease pumping at work?

Default Safe to decrease pumping at work?

Hi there!
    I currently work four 6 hour shifts and one 8 hour shift. I pump twice during my 6 and three times during my 8. I am a stylist and work strictly on commission and the holidays are coming so I get very busy at work. But pumping hinders my ability to work in my clients and be as busy as I would like. Do you think it would be possible to cut one pumping session from each day safely? DD is 7.5 months and only nurses one side at a time. I had previous oversupply and maybe still a little here and there.

6 hour day Routine:
    Nurse DD to sleep for nap around 2 pm.
    Start work at 3. Pump at 4 (yielding usually 4ish ounces sometimes more)and again @ 6:30 (yielding 2-3) Off at 8 home by 8:15 to nurse LO. There have been times when I really needed to work and pushed my 4 o'clock to 5:30ish and I usually get about 6ish ounces when I do that. DD usually drinks 6ish ounces while I'm gone. Occasionally more but never more than 8.

8 hour day:
    Wake @ 6ish a.m. short dream feed and then lay DD in swing (only place she will sleep any length of time other than right next to me). Work @ 8. Pump @ 9 or 9:30 ( yielding 4-6 ounces), pump @11:45 (2-3), and again at 2:30(2-3 ounces). Off at 4 and home by 4:15. DD usually takes 8ish ounces while I'm gone.