Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: 3.5 month old refusing bottle

Default 3.5 month old refusing bottle

Hello All! My 3.5 month old is refusing all bottles. He started off on bottles almost right off the bat because he was a NICU baby and in fact preferred them so much that we had problems with breastfeeding. We started to breastfeed exclusively at 4 weeks of age and now he breastfeeds like a champ. My problem is I have to return to work soon and I am a registered nurse so when I am working I am out of the house for 13 hours (on a good day). I don't want him to hold off until I come home from work, which I have heard of babies doing since that is a long stretch of time to be doing so.
    We have tried a lot of strategies: more than a dozen different types of bottles, cold breastmilk, warm breast milk and every temperature in between, daddy bottle feeding while mom is out of the house so baby can't smell mom, karo syrup on the bottle nipple, nothing seems to be working, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Default Re: 3.5 month old refusing bottle

Hum,
    What about a straw cup or sippy cup? 4 months is a little young for it but I've heard of some needing to be fed that way when they refuse bottles.

Doidy cups can be used from 4 months or a normal open up could be used too!

Apparently a doidy cup allows them to lap similar to the breast but as with all cups/bottles it is quite child dependent on whether they take to it. Other then it's shape a doidy is quite similar to an open cup. I know babies can cup feed right from newborn.

You could try syringe feeding too maybe? Not sure if there is an upper she limit that this is recommended for. My Lo was syringe fed on the special care unit.