Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Needing support... should I give up?

Question Needing support... should I give up?

This is my first time posting here. I have an 11 week old daughter with whom breastfeeding has been a challenge. With my first, breastfeeding was a breeze, despite colic and reflux. I have had an OS with my infant, and have been working with a local lactation consultant to resolve this. In addition, my girl has significant reflux, and between that and OS has experienced a lot of choking. This is better controlled with my work to reduce my supply and treatment of her reflux. However, in the last five days, she has begun refusing to nurse. We went through a 36 hour period in which she nursed only twice- otherwise would come to the breast, get really upset, and only take a bottle of pumped milk. We got going again a little better after that- it seems if I catch her when she is sleepy, or before she gets really hungry, she does okay. I can't always catch her at the right time, with chasing after my 4 year old. But this afternoon my infant has refused again... I know she will benefit my breastmilk whether from a bottle or from my breast. But of course I love the bonding that comes with bf. I am hoping that if I stick with it and continue to gently try, she will come around and be more willing. Anyone with any experience like this? Any words of wisdom? Thanks so, so much.

Default Re: Needing support... should I give up?

Welcome to the forum and congratulations on the new baby!

You nursed your first baby, so you know just how easy, fun, and healthy breastfeeding can be, and how worthwhile it is to try to get to the point where the road smooths out. So for that reason alone, I don't think you should give up.