Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Dairy and Gluten Free diet Question?

Default Dairy and Gluten Free diet Question?

Hello, I have been dairy and gluten free for 5 months because my son was spitting up and gassy. I went gluten and dairy because it was suggested by my pediatrician. I want to know how bad do you think it would be if just once a week I had a cheat meal? like a slice of pizza. I feel so restricted. I feel like if I can just have a cheat meal once a week I can continue breastfeeding. I have been breastfeeding for 6 months now. I think he is still sensitive because i had a cheat meal 2 weeks ago and he did spit up once just little bit. One pediatrician told me its not a big deal and once said i shouldn't do that. Whats everyones opinion? I also was very strict with my diet when I was pregnant. No bad foods whats so ever!

Default Re: Dairy and Gluten Free diet Question?

Your doc suggested that you eliminate dairy and gluten just because your baby was gassy and spitting up? That's pretty extreme, considering that spit-up and gassiness are entirely normal for young infants, and generally not a sign of intolerance to something in mom's diet.