Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Nursing Strike

Default Nursing Strike

Hello,

This is my first time posting on a Forum. My son will be a year old in 2 weeks (which is why I'm posting in the toddler section) and after almost a year of breastfeeding, he has suddenly stopped.

Here is some background. On Friday he came down with a fever which lasted for about 48 hours. On Monday he seemed fine but after his afternoon nap he woke up not quite himself. I could tell he wasn't feeling well but on Mondays he sleeps at my mom's house because I work early on Tuesdays. When I went to pick him up on Tuesday afternoon he was obviously uncomfortable. He nursed for a few minutes and then lost interest. That was the last time he nursed.
    We took him to the pediatrician that night and it was determined that nothing was wrong (no ear infection, sore throat, etc.) and that he probably had a slight stomach virus.

That night when I tried to breastfeed him, he violently refused the breast; kicked, screamed, cried inconsolably, hit my breast and pushed them away. He did take a bottle. Any attempts at breastfeeding have been the same since.
    This is especially upsetting for me because my son, ever the grazer, would breastfeed all of the time for nourishment and comfort. We even thought he might be breastfeeding too much and now the idea of breastfeeding seems traumatizing to him.

I had considered starting to wean him but this cold turkey weaning is not what I think is best for him or me. I am a mess. I need help. I am not trying to force the issue with him (I don't want to create any more negative associations) but gentle offers, skin to skin and pretending like his favorite dolls are nursing (yes, I'm that desperate!) have not worked. We do not co-sleep so trying while he is sleeping will not work. My pediatrician even suggested letting him get very hungry but me and my husband are not comfortable with that tactic.