Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I want to wean my son

Default I want to wean my son

(if there is a better forum for this please move!)

DS2 will be 8 this week, and he still feeds and asks for feeds morning and night, though I am not sure there is any milk! He is quite a stressed small boy who struggles with separation issues at school and I think continuing to breastfeed is part of his way of holding on to Mummy.

However he is nearly 8 and tbh I am very very ready to stop feeding him (I am also feeding my DD who is 4) I have brought the subject up many times over the years and again more recently and he reacts badly and says that he needs 'Boof'.

Help! when we went on the path of child led weaning I never thought I would be at this stage!

I have no one to talk this with.

Default Re: I want to wean my son

I have no experience to offer, just hugs and wishes that you are successful in achieving your goals! ((hugs))

The weaning sub-forum might attract more attention; you might want to cross-post.

8 years old or 8 months old??

Quote Originally Posted by @llli*k1mb3rly21 View Post
    8 years old or 8 months old??
    This isn't unheard of and I think she means age 8. It's more common in other parts of the world and I guess even though I wouldn't call it common overall, I think she is here asking for help! I wish I had some source for you. You might google "weaning the older child"? Have you begun restricting access to the breast? As far as I know you want to start removing a feed per day. Do you all share a family bed? Have you checked out this resource page? http://www.llli.org/nb/nbextended.html
    We and with our little monkey, born 9/30/2012.

Tips on weaning an older child:
    - Talk about weaning. Older children can internalize the rationales for weaning (e.g. it makes mom tired, it makes mom sore, if the child wasn't nursing mom might have more patience and time for play, etc.)