Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Help, breast abscess

Default Help, breast abscess

My LO is 4 mon, BFing well, happy and thriving with plenty of wet and poopy diapers. He's my third BF baby. My first child was born 6 years ago and I've been BFing since then except a few months break in between children when I was pregnant.

I've been getting the occasional little abscesses on the under side of my right breast for a long time that seem to come in groups. I can't remember if it started before or after the birth of my first or if they've occured during pregnancy when I wasn't lactating. I've always assumed they were the result of in grown hairs or something as I've had them elsewhere on my body as well. I seem to be prone to them.

Right now I lave a large painful one on the side of my right breast about 4" in diameter, but flat and close to the surface. I did some research and read that breast abscesses are the result of untreated mastitis and are considered a medical emergency that need to be drained and treated with antibiotics.

I would very much like it to go away, but would prefer not to go on antibiotics or have my breast punctured or cut. I'm pretty sure I'd know if I had mastitis and I haven't had fever or flu-like symptoms (that I've read usually accompanies mastitis and breast abscess).