Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Freestyle Breast Pump

Default Freestyle Breast Pump

Hi, everyone! I have a couple of questions regarding the medela freestyle breast pump. Is it true that it less efficient than the pump in style advance? Is the suction less than the pump in style? I've also heard that the parts are harder to assemble and they cannot be assembled wet? This sounds really inconvenient. I have a pump in style advance that I've used since my first son 6 years ago. I really like it and it still gets the job done and very quickly. I am in a position, however, that I am going to need an extremely portable pump and this is the only pump on the market that fits this description. I am a nursing student and will be going back to school in a few days. I need to pump milk for my 3 month old, but will not have access to outlets in the school buildings and clinical sites? I know the pump in style advance has a battery pack, but I have used it and find the batteries do not last long at all. I will be pumping at least 3 times a day, if not more. I am just so afraid of investing my money into a freestyle if it is less efficient, but I don't know what else to do? Are there any mom's out there who actually like their freestyle and can get as much milk as quickly as a pump in style? Ugh....

Default Re: Freestyle Breast Pump

I have both a Freestyle and a PIS. I was gifted a Freestyle for my baby shower, and I ultimately purchased the PIS Advanced myself when I returned to work.

My experience is that the Freestyle works, yes, but I do pump less milk overall with it. 1-2 oz a day less was my experience, but for me that was milk I needed, so I primarily use my PIS. Sometimes I have to travel during my work day, and so I do use my Freestyle to pump in the car at those times. I also used the Freestyle to pump at a couple of weddings I have had to go to! But given a choice and an outlet, I will always choose to use my PIS.