Happy Mothers Breastfed Babies

Thread: Biting

Default Biting

My 5.5 month old just got her two bottom teeth. Not a big deal, except...

we are not your average nursing pair. I have been feeding her unilaterally for about 3 months. I have pumped the other breast and it produces about 3oz/day. She actually went from the 90th percentile for weight to the 95th in the last month, so it's clear to me she is completely nourished from the large breast. Top this off with only feeding in the side lying position (every time for the last 4 months because of OALD/oversupply initially) and some food allergies. Anyway, we're still going and have a good relationship.

She has seemed extra hungry lately. I have been offering the under producing breast just as a "top off" after nursing the other side. She started biting the under producing breast, it drew blood. She keeps seeming to want more milk after nursing sessions, but she isn't crying or fussy, just seems to wish there was more.

To prevent a nursing strike (I'm afraid of yelping after another bite), should I just give up on the small breast for good? She won't even take it in her sleep anymore. I know the nipple is quite different and feels very different when she latches than the side she prefers. She is EBF, good diaper output.
    and Mama to two little girls

Default Re: Biting

I wouldn't give up on the small breast, because it always pays to have a backup. What if baby bites the larger side and suddenly you don't want to nurse on it? In that situation, the small side could come in handy, provided baby will still take it. I would actually start offering the small side at the beginning of every feeding, when baby is more hungry and less likely to fool around and bite. Not only would you be less likely to be bit- hypothetically, anyway- but you might also even put the size difference between the two sides.
    Coolest thing my big girl said recently: "How can you tell the world is moving when you are standing on it?"